Appetizers…..for Christmas?

What’s your Christmas  meal tradition?  We change ours every 3 years as far as our menu goes.  Last year was the Baked Potato Bar and boys howdy do we bring on the toppings. Everything from Steak, to fajita chicken to chili, to steamed broccoli and cheese topping, and taco seasoned ground beef with all the other toppings for that, sauteed mushrooms, well, I could go on and on!  We make sure we have small baking potatoes so we aren’t too full to go back for seconds on the toppings!

Next year the kiddos and grandkiddos come over for a “formal type” of setting…. Christmas dishes, sit-down service, we cook a fabulous meal and serve all of them like they were in a high end restaurant.  They seem to love it….and the grub! 

This year,well,  this is our Appetizer Christmas!  We all bring our favorite munchies and dig in!  Sort of like tailgating on Christmas night.  We have a blast, with a huge variety of items to choose from.  

One item I will be making is BBQ Chicken Dip.  Love, love LOVE this stuff.  This recipe is one I came across on the web from another blogger I follow and tried it and fell in love with it and the ease of making it.   Make you some and serve it up for the National Championship game. Serve with some Fritos, Tostitos, or your favorite crackers.  

BBQ Chicken Dip

12 oz cooked chicken, chopped (I use a rotisserie chicken, makes it quick and easy and then use the rest of the chicken for something else)

1 (8-oz) block cream cheese, softened

3/4 cup bbq sauce

1/4 cup ranch dressing (any store bought brand or home made works fine)

1/4 cup sour cream

1 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, shredded

1 green onion, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a mixing bowl combine chicken, cream cheese, sour cream, ranch dressing, barbecue sauce, and 1 cup cheddar cheese.  Pour mixture into a lightly greased 8×8 baking dish.  Top the dip with chopped green onion and remaining cheese.  Bake for 25-30 minutes or until bubbly

6 responses

  1. I put my foot down after Thanksgiving and said I’M NOT COOKING A BIG CHRISTMAS MEAL!!! I was thinking of spaghetti but Cade whinned, so we are having sub sandwiches and a variety of dips. I’m kind of excited!! I’m going.to remember your potato bar for next year!!

    • Tell Chandler he needs to get his mama to cook him some! Next year it’s a whole new menu as it is every third year! And it will be just as good!!!!

  2. This sounds really good & my favorite kind of EASY!! It appears I will be in Pasadena babysitting while others are at the game. Noah & I just might be eating this dip!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a comment