My way or your way…..either will taste great!

 

I made a couple of different new recipes a couple of weekends ago……..

Image

This was great!  I had it for lunch but it would make a great little appetizer and the possibilities are endless!   I took fat free cream cheese and added ranch dressing mix to it and stirred (add to taste); cut washed cucumber (with ends cut off) in half, scoop out seeds on both halves.   Add some of the flavored spread, layer with your favorite thin sliced sandwich meat (I used turkey), some shaved lettuce, thinly sliced roma tomatoes, and there you have it!!! Oh, I also sprinkled a small amount of salt and pepper on my cucumber!   But think of what you could do with this!  Add taco seasoning mix and use sliced beef (or turkey). And I want to try a Dill dip mix!  That would be great with the cucumber!     Think of all the carbs you save for those of you watching those!  Besides, it just looks so cute!

I also made these Crescent Sausage Bites……..

Image

The Sunday School class loved them!   And the possibilities are endless!  Use hot sausage and pepper-jack cheese in these!   I could also see using Chicken/apple sausage or Italian sausage with a little oregano for additional flavor and a small amount of mozzarella cheese added!  I could go on and on!

1 1-lb bulk pork sausage                                1 8-oz. pkg cream cheese

2 pkgs crescent rolls                                        dash of salt & pepper

  1.  In a sauté pan, brown sausage, drain.  Add a dash of salt & pepper.  Blend in cream cheese until cream cheese is melted.
  2. Unroll one pkg. of crescent rolls on baking sheet (I lightly butter mine first).  Press seams to seal.  Spread the sausage mix evenly over the crescent roll dough, leaving about ½ inch border around edges.
  3. Unroll remaining pkg. of crescent rolls and place on top of sausage mixture.  Press (pinch) seams together to seal, making sure seams are sealed and edges are sealed also.
  4. Bake at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until dough is golden brown (cooking time may vary with ovens).
  5. Let sit for 5 minutes before cutting into squares.

I hope you will try these and experiment by changing them up!

And in the words of Julia Childs, “Bon Appetit!”

6 responses

  1. Yummo! I’m going to make the Crescent Sausage Bites for our Valentine’s Breakfast at work next week. And the Cucumber sandwiches look wonderful!

  2. I LOVE these crescent sausage bites but have never thought about using different sausages. I will make this dish with Chicken/apple sausage for our Youth group’s DiscipleNow weekend! THANKS!!

Leave a Reply

