Ole! Time for Mexican Pulled Pork

I have wanted to try this easy peasy crock pot recipe for a while!  And this weekend I will be making this!  We will be eating some (and I use the term “we” very loosely”) Mexican Pulled Pork tacos after this wonderfully seasoned pork shoulder roast sits in the crock pot for 6 to 10 hours making my house smell like it is Cinco De Mayo in February!  You should make it too, and come back and let me know how yours turned out!  I will be wearing my authentic hand-made Mexican blouse while preparing this!  Maybe I will think (or wish) I am back in Cozumel!

Slow cooker Mexican Pulled Pork Tacos (or make Burritos if you have any leftover pork)

The rub is for a 3 1/2 lb pork shoulder – my roast is about 5 1/2 lbs so I will increase my spice amount by 1 1/2)

The Rub:

  • 4 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 Tbsp kosher salt
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp ground oregano
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon
  • Scant pinch of ground cloves

The Roast:

  • 3 ½ pound boneless pork shoulder roast
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil

 

  1.  Whisk together the rub ingredients in a small bowl.
  2. If the roast is tied up with butcher string, untie it.  Pat the roast dry with paper towels.  Rub the spice mix into the roast all over, reserving leftover spice mix for later.   Marinate in the rub at least one hour or overnight. (I marinate overnight)
  3. Heat vegetable oil in a frying pan on medium high heat.   Place the roast in the pan anad brown on all sides.
  4. Place the roast in slow cooker, and add any reserved spice rub.   Cook on low setting for 6 to 10 hours, until the pork is fall apart tender.
  5. Remove the roast from the slow cooker and place on a cutting board.  Cut into large chunks.  Then use two forks to pull the meat apart into bite sized shreds.  Return the shreds to the slow cooker and toss to coat with the juice from the roast.

Serve with tortillas, avocados, and salsa (and any other topping you like on your tacos.)

Gracias! For reading and following me!

6 responses

Leave a Reply

