Healthy….And good! Turkey Meatloaf – Mexican Style

Remember me saying that the seasoning for the Mexican Pulled Pork has become one of my favorite all-time season mixes?  I have found yet another use for this wonderful mixture!  Hubby wanted meatloaf for Sunday dinner, and since I do not eat beef, I decided to make mine out of ground turkey and jazz it up a bit and make it a “Mexican Meatloaf”.  This turned out fantastic, tasty, and the flavors could not have been better.  Put this one in your rotation to make.  You won’t be disappointed.

Mexican Turkey Meatloaf

Ingredients: (can double or triple ingredients if more than one or two are eating)

 Image

1 lb ground turkey

2 Tbsp chopped onion

2 Tbsp chopped bell pepper

1-2 Tbsp chopped jalapeno pepper (leave seeds in or out – your choice)

Mexican seasoning (Mix spices from the Mexican Pulled Pork and save leftover spice mixture  for other recipes like soups, seasoning grilled veggies, etc)

4 saltine crackers , crushed(because I didn’t have any bread)

Enough milk to soak the crackers and soften them up (keeps moisture in the turkey meat)

1 egg

 

Combine Turkey, chopped onion, bell pepper, jalapeno pepper, softened cracker mix, egg, and 2-4 Tbsp of the Mexican seasoning mix I never measure but I think I used around 3 Tbsp) until well mixed.   Place in greased loaf pan.

Image

  Sprinkle top with more seasoning mix.   Bake at 375 degrees until done, around 40-50 minutes, depending on your oven. 

 

 Image

This was so good!   And I served it with steamed Broccoli and Cauliflower mix and a Carrot Souffle.  The recipe for the Carrot Souffle will be posted later.  It, too, was divine.  I ate it last – it was like a dessert and I used Splenda in it so that hubby could have it.  Let me know if you try this.  Happy April!

3 responses

  1. Hummm….I’m not much of a ground turkey user, but my daughters are always trying to get me to try new stuff with ground turkey, so I will give it a go!

Leave a Reply

