Beef Brisket Pot Roast

Boys Howdy, did hubby like this one!  And this one could not be easier.   If you like brisket, and you are used to eating it smoked, bbq fashion, give this recipe a try.  It will not disappoint you. 

Image

Beef Brisket Pot Roast

4-5 pound beef brisket (the only one I could find was the one in the package with the seasoning mix – I just threw away the seasoning mix and rinsed my brisket)

salt

1-2 Tbsp olive oil

3 large onions, sliced

5 garlic cloves, minced (less if you are not a huge fan of garlic)

1 sprig of thyme (mine hasn’t grown in the garden yet so I just used a tsp of dried thyme)

1 sprig of rosemary (I used 2 sprigs)

3 bay leaves

2 cups of beef stock (I had beef broth so that is what I used)

2-3 large carrots, peeled and cut into 1 1/2 pieces ( I didn’t have any like I thought so I left these out)

1 Tbsp mustard (optional)

1.  on the side of the brisket where the layer of fat is, score through the fat (not the meat) in both directions, about 1/4 inch apart. Salt the brisket and let brisket set at room temp about 30 minutes (I skipped this as I was in a hurry to get it on before church)

2.  In an oven proof  pot (dutch oven with oven proof lid) add the olive oil and heat on medium high heat.   You do not want it to sear on high heat. Pat the brisket dry and place it fatty side down in the dutch oven cooking for 5-8 minutes until fat side is nicely browned.  Turn it over and do the same on the other side.   If the roast seems to be cooking too fast, cut the flame down to medium.

When the brisket has browned, remove and set aside.  Turn heat up to high and make sure there are a couple of tablespoons of oil in oven.   If not add some olive oil.  Add the sliced onions.  Saute, stirring often, until the onions re lightly browned, 5-8 minutes.  Stir in garlic and cook 1-2 minutes.  

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Add bay leaves, rosemary (leave on stem – you can take stem out after cooking) thyme.  Move onions and garlic to sides of pot and nestle brisket inside.  Add beef stock and bring stock to a boil.  Cover with lid and place in oven.  Cook for 3 hours,  Flip brisket every hour so it cooks evenly – (I flipped mine twice and then left for church – it cooked fine)

If you are using the carrots that I did not use, add them after 3 hours.  Cover and cook one more hour.  or until the carrots are cooked through and the brisket is falling apart tender.

 

My brisket cooked a total of 4 hours and 15 minutes.  It sliced beautifully.  I strained the juice and onions; I placed the onions in one bowl; I added a Tbsp of grainy deli mustard to the juice and stirred it which thickend the broth.  I then drizzled some of the juice on the roll, put some of those onions which almost spread on the bread, added some more mustard. layered that tender, sliced brisket, and hubby said it was like eating heaven!  Tender, juicy, moist.   

Give it a try!   Let me know if you like it!!!! 

One response

  1. I have been looking for a good brisket recipe……no one in my family can make one without the season packet and it turns out too salty……This one looks simple enough.

Leave a Reply

