Fresh Vegetables for Lunch

Father’s Day was great! Relaxing, a weekend spent with my honey, doing just what he wanted, and cooking just what he wanted.  Which meant a wonderful meal of fresh vegetables.  We had, fresh peas with snaps, and slices onions to go with them (he ate the onions, but I still gave him a kiss anyway!)  fresh squash, cooked two ways, the regular way with the onions cooked in them and then his request of fried squash, fresh sliced tomatoes, baby new potatoes with a butter and parsley served over them (I grew the parsley) and of course, cornbread.  A meal fit for a king!  My favorite was the fried squash!  I don’t fry often and these were great.  They were crunchy, and had so much flavor.  I recommend them if you like squash and want a different way than the standard which is good, or the squash casserole which is also good.  These just kicked them up a notch.  Three notches, in my book!  I also didn’t have buttermilk so I made my own.  All you have to do is take milk (any kind whether it is whole, 2% or skim which is what i had) and add lemon juice or regular vinegar, let it sit for 5-10 minutes on the counter and whala! there it is….buttermilk…to cook with…..I also didn’t have white vinegar nor lemon juice ….I think I need to add these to the grocery list….. so I used lime juice and it worked great!   you put 1 Tbsp of white vinegar or lemon juice in your one cup measuring cup, and then add the milk until it reached one cup and let it sit. That’s all there is to it. And it worked great. 

 Image

Fried Squash

2-4 Fresh Squash, washed and ends cut off

1 cup buttermilk

1 egg

1 cup flour

1 cup cornmeal

2-3 Tbsp creole seasoning

½ tsp salt

¼ tsp pepper

¼ tsp cayenne pepper (or more if you want a little more heat)

 

  1.  Wash squash, slice off ends (I also slice off the long shorter end) and slice into ¼ inch slices. Beat egg, and add buttermilk.  Stir to mix well.  Place sliced squash into a bowl with buttermilk/egg mixture and let sit in refrigerator for 30 minutes.
  2. When ready to fry, mix flour, cornmeal, creole seasoning, (can use other seasoning if you prefer), salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper (can use more or less for your heat level) and mix well.
  3. Heat oil in skillet.  Take squash slices from liquid, and dredge in dry mix.  Fry in batches until golden and crispy.  Serve hot and enjoy! 
Leave a Reply

