Lemon Monkey Bread Deconstructed

Get to your grocery store as fast as you can and get some Rhodes Dinner rolls and make this recipe!  I had found this recipe and wanted to try these so, as the first Saturday in a while and for a while that I have had at home in the morning time, I decided this was the day.  And am I glad it was because these are unreal.  I won’t tell you how many I ate.  I will tell you that once you get started on these, it is very, very hard to stop. Trust me on this.  I won’t kid you on this.  And they are easy.  I won’t kid you on this, either.  Make them, and eat 2 or 3, or more if you just have to.

Oh, I call it deconstructed because it is not baked in a traditional bundt like most monkey breads are and boy, am I glad.  When you try these, you will be glad, too.

Lemon Monkey Bread

 

12 Rhodes dinner rolls, thawed but still cold

Zest of 1 lemon

½ cup sugar

3 tablespoons butter, melted

 

Glaze:

½ cup powdered sugar

1 Tbsp lemon juice

 

  1.  Heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cut rolls in half and place in a greased 9×13 inch pan.
  3. Drizzle the rolls with 3 tbsp. of melted butter.
  4. Mix lemon zest and ½ cup sugar together in a small bowl.  Sprinkle half of the lemon sugar mixture over the rolls.  Cover and place in warm spot (I usually put pan on back of stove top while stove is heating up.) and let rise until doubled in size.Image
  5. Sprinkle remaining lemon sugar mixture on top. (See the picture above?  They have risen and the remaining sugar has been sprinkled on top and ready for baking)  Bake at 350 degrees for about 22-25 minutes.  Remove from pan. 
  6. Combine glaze ingredients.  Drizzle over rolls while still warm.Image (I actually drizzled while still in pan and let sit for a few minutes and then removed from pan-either  way it works – just be sure to put glaze on while still warm and let rolls soak up that luscious glaze!

 Here they are all done…..

Image

Leave a Reply

