Peanut Butter….Apples….and a cuppa tea, please

I made these this morning on a whim….

Image

I was waiting to go somewhere with hubby on my way to work, what else was I to do?  So I whipped up a batch of these-that’s how easy they are, and I had everything in the cabinet needed.  I had wanted to make these for a while and I just don’t know why I waited.  I also substituted the regular brown sugar for the Splenda Brown Sugar to make them so that hubby could enjoy them.  And I left some without the confectioner’s sugar, too.  Either way, we deemed these a keeper.  I took some to work to share and they, too, loved them.   Don’t be a doofus like me and wait so long to make these.  Make them now.  And have them with a cup of tea, or coffee, or a glass of milk.  Or nothing at all.  They are good anyway you have them.

 

Peanut Butter-Apple Tea Sticks

 

1 egg

3/4 cup brown sugar, packed (I used Splenda Brown Sugar, and it worked fine)

1/2 cup peanut butter (I had crunchy and it was nice with the extra little “crunch”)

1/4 cup milk (regular, 2% or skim will work – I used skim because that is all I buy)

1 teaspoon vanilla

Sifted Powdered sugar

3/4 cup sifted all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup chopped, peeled apple (usually a medium apple – I used a gala but a granny smith may be nice and give it a slight tartness)

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Prepare an 8 or 9 inch square pan by either greasing and lightly flouring or by using a baking spray.

2.  Beat egg until light.  Beat in brown sugar, add peanut butter, milk and vanilla; mix well. 

3.  In another bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt; stir into peanut butter mixture.  Stir in apples.

4.  Bake in 350 degree oven for 30 to 35 minutes, depending on your oven.  Cool for 15  minutes.  Cut into rectangles.  Roll in powdered sugar.

 

And dive in!  Betcha can’t eat just one.

 

One response

  1. This sounds delicious! Im going to substitute the peanut butter and use all natural almond butter along with the splenda to make them even better for you 😉 sounds yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

