Homemade Taco Seasoning….Yum!

I don’t buy those packets of “taco seasoning mix” anymore…not since I found this wonderful mix to prepare and ALWAYS keep in a mason jar in the cabinet!   I ran out this past weekend… I cried…I stomped my feet…..then I came to my senses and made more.   I always keep the ingredients on hand so I can make more.   Follow my example.  Once you make your own, you won’t go back to the other.   Let me warn you, though, it has a kick.  If you want less heat, I suggest you use less cayenne and red pepper flakes.  These are used for heat and flavor so I wouldn’t totally leave them out.  Just use less.  In fact, I usually double the recipe to make sure I have enough for a while.  We like to use it in our ground beef (for hubby) and ground turkey (for me) and then we use it for taco salads, nachos, and other delectable dishes.

Homemade Taco Seasoning

1 Tbsp Chili Powder 

1 tsp. cayenne (more or less for heat)

1 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp dried minced onion

1 tsp red pepper flakes

1 tsp oregano

2 tsps. paprika

2 Tbsps cumin

1 Tbsp sea salt (kosher works fine)

1 Tbsp ground black pepper 

1 Tbsp onion powder

 

Pour all of the ingredients in to a bowl and mix.  I like to put mine in a mason jar and put the top on and shake.   Remember that the amounts above are guidelines.  Play with the flavors.  Add more of one seasoning and less of another if you wish.   It’s a great seasoning that you can certainly flavor to your liking. 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

