“Dressing” up

My kids want my “dressing” recipe.  They also want a few other recipes I make.  Well, here’s what I told them and I have to tell you the same thing.  Y’all come on over!   I don’t got no recipe….. which means, I “eyeball’ it and taste test and add a little more pinch of this and a little more pinch of that.

Apparently, their family members did not eat dressing, any sort, any kind, until they had mine.  Now that’s not to say there’s not great dressing other places, they just like mine.   Mine tastes like Memom’s (my mom’s) – and they simply like it.  Its not cubed up bread, its not “stuffing”, its not packaged.  Its strickly from “scratch” with a lot of “scratch’ in it.  

I did tell them that once they make their pone of cornbread for the base, take it out of the oven, immediately cut that beauty and taste it.   If it ain’t good enough to serve and share, and you oooh and aahhh over it, don’t make your dressing with it.   It won’t make good dressing.  (I speak from experience here, y’all.) 

And I tell them, don’t, under any circumstances, use an off-brand cornmeal.   Not at all.  Never.  There are some things I won’t do.  And this is one of them.  I am particular about my cornmeal, my flour, and my paper towels.  That’s all I got to say about that.

My dressing contains: cornbread, (of course),  onion, chopped, celery, chopped-number of stalks depends on amount of onion I use and amount of dressing I am making – usually onion and celery is about same quantity (I do not sauté these before adding – they cook in the process of baking the dressingand flavors the dressing so much better this way), salt and pepper to taste, a pinch of rubbed sage, 2 eggs, beaten, either the broth from the turkey you baked or chicken stock if I don’t have homemade stock, (I like using chicken stock as opposed to chicken broth as it is richer in flavor) and about 3 tablespoons of canola oil (keeps it so moist)  – and I can’t tell you the amount of broth I use as it is an “eyeballing it” sort of process.  I mix it all together, (after crumbling the cornbread all up, adding all the others) and place in the pan and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes to an hour or until set, done, and golden on top. I always add the eggs last, as I taste the “mix” to adjust the seasonings of salt, pepper, and sage to “get it right.”

Man, oh, man, is it good.  Hubby likes it made into “chicken and dressing” in which I just boil the chicken (a scaled down portion of the above) and pull the chicken off the bone, use the broth I cooked the chicken in and lay the chicken all over the top of the dressing and bake.  He likes this better than the Baked Turkey sliced and the separate dressing. 

I just may have to make him some this month!   Make you some and let me know how your “eyeballing it” recipe turns out! 

One response

Leave a Reply

