Pecan pie in a muffin

No, i didn’t take a picture of these either……. I know, I must get better.  I really did mean to take a picture but as soon as they cooled, hubby had snapped them up and put them in containers….I think he had divided them out as to how he wanted to eat them each morning! HA!   Mainly because I made a little switcherooo in these and used the Splenda Brown Sugar instead of regular brown sugar so he could have them.

I don’t know why I worry about that because lately he has been sitting cupcake mixes on the counter and said, “here make these and leave off the icing…I like them for breakfast”.  So I have tried to help the cause by making healthy!  And you know what, these were just as good, just as decadent and you couldn’t tell the difference.    Splenda Brown sugar rocks!

These only make 8 really nice sized muffins, but I will tell you that using Splenda Brown Sugar does not allow the muffins to “rise” in the middle and get that little “Poof” to the center.   You know what I’m talking about.   But it won’t matter cause even the small “poof” you get is just fine.   The flavor, oh, the flavor……. just make them!  I have seen several variations, and this, by far, is the easiest, least ingredients, and so dadgum good.

Pecan Pie Muffins

1 cup Packed light Brown Sugar (remember – I used Splenda Brown Sugar – same quantity)

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup chopped pecans

2/3 cup softened butter

2 whole eggs, beaten

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease your muffin pan. In a medium bowl, stir together brown sugar, flour, and pecans.   In a separate bowl, beat the butter and eggs together until smooth.  Stir into the dry ingredients just until combined. Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin cups.  They will be about 2/3 to 3/4 full.  Bake for 20-30 minutes, depending on your oven.  Cool on wire racks when done.

And if you want something really good, when they come out of the oven, slice off a “pat of buttuh” and place on top of one of them and eat it warm!  Oh, my.   Change this up  – use walnuts instead of pecans, or toasted almonds.   I just may add some mini chocolate chips next time!  Just for me!  

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

