Fried Cornbread and Blenders….huh???

I made fried cornbread two nights ago to go with our homemade vegetable beef soup (mine had turkey!).  Man was it good.   I also found out that I think my blender is going out on me.  I have only had it like, 20-25 years.  You think it would last longer than that. GEEZ! Don’t they make anything to last anymore?   The blender issue has nothing to do with the fried cornbread.  Anyone have a favorite blender they like?   I am on the hunt!!!!!!

Now…..for this fried cornbread.  I have always made mine with two ingredients.   Self-rising cornmeal and very hot water from the faucet.  That is all.   I have seen so many recipes using boiling water and tried it a while back and don’t like it as well. The consistency is different.  So this time, back to my regular, good old, recipe.  But this time, I added one more thingy….some chopped jalapeno peppers – the kind from the jar.   Man, did it kick it to another level!   YUM-O!

Image

AND….. I sliced off a “pat of buttah” and added to the skillet with each new batch – I think it gave them a great crispiness and added another level of flavor……(sorry – the lighting above my stove is not the best…if I would remember to turn the overhead light on it may help….)

Image

what do you think???  You can see those jalapenos in there!   Sure was good with that homemade soup(s).

 

NOW – back to the blender – I will be looking at getting one in the next few months – do you have a new, spiffy updated one? Or are you in need of one, also?    Let me know what you think a good one is…as you can see, I have not shopped for a blender in quite some time.  Have a good day!

6 responses

  1. Mine is at least that age too Tella! I’m wondering if I could kill two birds with one stone and get that Margarita machine and use it as my blender also??? LOL LOL

  2. Without doubt, I need a new one! And, if you can afford one . . it’s hard to beat a KitchenAid when looking into such food functions! Have a great day and thanks again for all you do!!

Leave a Reply

