Can you stand one more biscuit recipe?

I had to try this biscuit recipe from my favorite cookbook—– it contains two of my favorite ingredients-crushed red pepper flakes and Parmesan cheese.  And we were not disappointed.   They were so good, and so flakey.The said it would be good with country ham.  Since I don’t eat country ham, I served it with a big bowl of soup.   What a great substitute for crackers!   Make these and see what you think.

Cheese Biscuits

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

4 teaspoons baking powder

1/3 cup vegetable shortening (the Crisco kind – yes, I know……enough said)

1 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (I actually added more for more heat-I mean, 1/4 tsp just wasn’t enough for me!!!) 

1 cup milk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease a 13 x 9 inch baking pan (I like to grease mine by just melting about 2 -3 tbsp butter in the pan).  In a large bowl, sift the flour, salt, and baking powder.   Cut in the shortening just until the mixture resembles small peas.  Stir in the cheddar cheese, Parmesan cheese and red pepper flakes.   Add the milk, stirring well to make a soft dough.  Knead slightly.  Roll or pat the dough to 1/2 inch thickness (I may pat mine to 3/4 inch next time) and cut with biscuit cutter or just cut into square biscuit shapes (like I did) and bake for 10 to 12 minutes.   I did let mine bake for about 14 minutes.  I think it will depend on your oven.

Image

How good do these look?    I hope you will try these and like them as well as we did.   I may even play around with the recipe and exchange the red pepper flakes for ground cayenne pepper.  Yum!

Leave a Reply

