Pot roast – with a kick

We’re eating at work next week.   We do that a lot.  No wonder every one is always either exercising or trying to diet.   We’re like that.  Keeps life interesting.  And fun.  And very flavorful!

I am making Pot roast.  But not just any old pot roast. I’m kicking it up a notch.   This one will start off my regular way but with some added spice.  Then the gang (not me cause I don’t eat beef but I know it will be good – don’t ask how – I just know) will chow down on it and on the sides that they are responsible for – maybe real flavorful smashed potatoes – and some green beans – or whatever they choose.  That will be their department.  

Try this one and see how you like it – I think it would make some great sliders – or some open faces roast beef sandwiches.  

Cajun Pot Roast with Gravy

2-3 Tablespoons Olive Oil 

2-4 pound pot roast

2 tablespoons Creole seasoning (or more if you really like to flavor up the roast)

1/3 cup flour, plus 2 tablespoons for the gravy making

1 onion, sliced

1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained ( use the fire-roasted for more depth of flavor – or the diced with peppers and onions-yum)

2 cups beef broth, divided. (may need more if roast is large)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  

Heat olive oil in a large dutch oven or other oven proof pan.  Rub the pot roast with the creole seasoning.  (I like to salt and pepper my roast also).  Place the /3 cup of flour on a plate (I like to add a little salt, pepper and creole seasoning to my flour and mix well also)  and dredge the roast in it.  Sear the roast on all sides until it starts to brown, about 3 minutes per side.

Sprinkle the onions around the roast and pour the tomatoes (I throw in a  in along with one cup of beef broth. Cover and cook in preheated oven for 3 hours or until roast is cooked through and tender.  I like to check mine periodically to make sure the liquid hasn’t all cooked out – that’s why I like to keep some extra broth on hand – just pour a little in and keep on going.  I also like to turn my roast over during the cooking process.

Remove roast from pan and cover to keep warm once it is so very tender.

Whisk remaining 2 tablespoons of flour into remaining cup of beef broth.  Whisk mixture into pan juices.  Bring to a boil and stirring constantly, cook until the gravy reduces and thickens, about 5 minutes.  Ladle the gravy onto a large serving platter, cut the roast and place on top of the sauce.  

 

Now this is the recipe – remember that I cook by the look/feel of stuff – so my cooking may be – add more broth/add more flour/add more seasoning.   You may want to stick exactly to recipe and you may be like me – eyeball it.   Change it up a bit.   Just go for it and make the recipe your own.

Or if you are serving it open faced, just slice the roast or shred it, put it back in the pot with the gravy, and then spoon over your rolls.

Sounds yummy!   Can’t wait to serve this up next week!   Have a great weekend!

 

 

Leave a Reply

