Breakfast Casserole – make it!

When I come across a recipe I can “tweak’ and make it what I consider more flavorful, and one I think either my peeps, or my co-workers, or my Sunday School class will enjoy, I jump at the chance,and this was one of those that turned out great.

It is easy, it bakes up golden and smells so good while cooking, and will get a lot of thumbs up when serving.  Have a house full of guests over the 4th of July holiday?  Serve a couple of these and you are a winner.

Incredible Breakfast Casserole

1 can flaky Grands 

1 bag shredded sharp cheddar cheese (8 ounce bag)

1/2 cup milk 

1 cup cooked of either cooked pork sausage or cubed ham (I found a brand, Wright’s smoked pork sausage, the 1 lb bulk that you make the patties out of that I used and it smelled incredible and i believe gave the casserole some of that “conecuh”  smokey flavor without as much of the grease)

5 eggs

Salt and pepper, to taste

1/2 to 3/4 tsp garlic powder (more or less, to taste)

1/4 to 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (more or less, to taste)

 Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat eggs and milk together, then add the salt, pepper, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, then stir in the shredded cheddar cheese and cooked sausage or ham.    Once combined, throw in the cut biscuits, and stir to coat all the biscuits. casserole one
 Transfer to an oiled casserole dish (I used an 11×7 pyrex but you could also use a 9×13, depending on how thick you want it – the 11×7 worked great). 

Bake 25 to 30 minutes at 350 degrees.  It should look just set and golden.

 

casserole two
Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

