Soup’s on!

I love soup! I love to create new soup with what’s in season, or what’s left in the freezer/refrigerator.  I love other people’s suggestions for soup recipes.  I love to give the “soup mix in a jar” as gifts.  Did I say I love soup?   And who says soup is only for the fall and winter?   Although I find we eat more soup during the cold weather..why is that?  It was brought to my attention that we eat other foods “hot out of the oven” all year long so why not soup all during the year?  I totally agree.

So….to celebrate the changing of the leaves, the beautiful weekend coming, and the cooler weather (sorry about the cooler weather, Tracy!) of which I dearly love, I am giving away two (2) of these 7-quart gorgeous dutch ovens:

dutch oven

Great for a BIG pot of your favorite soup.  Or your BIG favorite roast with veggies.   OR whatever you want to put in it and make.  Use these on top of the stove or use these in the oven.  I chose red to go along with those changing leaves.  I hope you like the color.

Want a chance to win one of these two pots?   Just leave a comment and tell me your favorite soup you (or your family) like(s) to have on a chilly night (or day…or football watching afternoon…or well, I’ll stop for now).   And if you are so inclined to do so, share your recipe!    Two winners will be posted next Tuesday.

Enjoy your football weekend and I hope your team (if they are playing this weekend) wins.   But get out and enjoy this wonderful weather.

23 responses

  1. I’m a sucker for creamy mushroom soup, but it’s so rich and full of calories, I save it for special occasions…and then eat lots of it! Here’s my favorite version from one chef I love to hate, Anthony Bourdain. I discovered the recipe long ago, and it’s been my go-to version ever since:

    6 tablespoons butter
    1 onion, thinly sliced
    12 ounces button mushrooms, halved
    4 cups chicken stock (or vegetable stock if you want vegetarian soup)
    1 sprig parsley
    2 ounces sherry
    Salt and pepper to taste

    Over medium heat, melt two tablespoons of the butter in a saucepan. Toss in the onion and cook until soft but not browned.

    Toss in the remaining butter and then add the mushrooms. Cook for 8 minutes.

    Pour in the chicken stock, add the parsley, and bring to a boil. When bubbling, reduce to a simmer and cook for an hour.

    Pour soup into a blender (you might need to do this in stages), and process until smooth. Return to the saucepan and bring to a simmer. Pour in the sherry, and season with salt and pepper.

    Yummers!

  2. I love to make homemade tortellini tomato soup during cold weather months! It hits the spot with my hunting husband after a long day in the woods. Add a grilled cheese and a warm fire and you have one great Friday or Saturday night!!

  3. I’m with Christi, I love Chili! However, I keep one of those large Country Crock containers in my freezer and when we have a little corn, peas, butter beans, etc left over I dump it in the bowl and freeze, then whenever it gets pretty full, I defrost and add a couple of cans of tomato’s, hamburger and onion and you have soup!

  4. Has to be my Dad’s chili . . . we always used to joke that he could sell the stuff it is so good! But, it does have dark red kidney beans!

  5. This is my first time back in a few days but I want to tell you thank you for your more than helpful donate to Shianne’s “Small feet with a big Imprint” book bag drive. She has already set herself another goal to do 30 for the Elementary and 30 for the Middle school for next year. With Prayer and great people like you I know that she will meet that Goal. My Favorite Soup is “Potatoes Soup or French Onions.” I have two sorry. I love love love soups too.

  6. First of all – I LOVE the red! Good choice!

    Our favorite soup is loaded potato soup. I modified a recipe from an old cookbook and have done it so much I don’t measure anymore, but here are the ingredients.
    Cubed potatoes (I leave the skins on)
    chopped onion
    salt
    pepper
    thyme
    Goya pork flavored seasoning
    butter
    sour cream
    evaporated milk

    I top it with more sour cream, cheese and bacon bits and serve with Jiffy cornbread mini muffins.

  7. AHH!!! I have been wanting one of those!! My husband’s favorite is Chili Soup..
    1 1/2 lbs of hamburger meat
    1 chopped onion
    3 cans minestrone soup
    3 cans of water (use soup cans)
    1 can chili beans
    1 can stewed tomatoes ( I like to chop them up)
    1 can rotel tomatoes
    1/2-1 tbl chili powder

    Brown the hamburger meat with the chopped onion. Mix the soup, 3 cans of water, the bean, stewed tomatoes, rotel tomatoes and the chili powder in soup pot . -like the awesome one shown 😉 Add the hamburger meat to the mix. Simmer on low heat for abou 30 minutes or so. Enjoy with some good old cornbread

  8. I live “soup” time of the year. i even love gazpacho, but especially hot soup on a cold day. Can’t name a favorite but love potato, tomato basil & taco to name a few.

  9. I love soup too! I have several favorites – taco soup, potato soup, vegetable soup and cream cheese chicken chili!! I really could name more. Soup soothes the soul.

Leave a Reply

