Cheesy Sausage Pull Apart Bread

I made this for Sunday School.   I think they liked it – they said they did and they ate it – but our group will eat just about anything! HA!

I do know that next time I make this there are a few things I will do differently.   Since we have some that are out sick/surgery/colds/ and various other reasons, I knew the regular number would not be the same so I only made half the recipe.   The recipe says make in a large skillet because you use the large size biscuits.  I actually did use the large size biscuits but had 2 left over that I did not use or could not fit in a cake pan that I used for ours.  And I did not make a double layer of these cuties.   So if you make these (and I truly hope you do) try making a double layer or better yet, make them in a bundt pan – truly a pull apart breakfast bite!

I also used 1/2 of a mild sausage and 1/2 of a hot sausage, blended them together before browning to give some zowie! to the dish and add another layer of flavor to the dish.   It made it not to hot but with just a little zip in it.

So….here’s the handy dandy dish..but no end picture because I am a total airhead..sorry!   I did remember to take pictures of the makings!

Cheesy Sausage Pull Apart Breakfast Bread

1 pound breakfast sausage, cooked and drained

2 – 16oz cans refrigerated buttermilk biscuits (the large ones)

3 Tbsp butter

2 garlic cloves

2 cups Sargento 4-Cheese Mexican Shredded Blend

1 Tbsp thyme (optional – I didn’t use this but it would work well)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Spray a large skillet or baking pan with non-stick cooking spray.

Cut biscuits into quarters like this.

photo one

Flatten each piece slightly (and next time I will flatten more than I did this time) filling with a small amount of cooked sausage.  (I might even add a bit of cheese to my cooled sausage to go in the little scutters!)

photo two

Pinch edges to seal and roll into a ball. See how cute?

photo three

Place in the skillet, or whatever you are using, and make sure they are touching.   Repeat with remaining dough and sausage.   Melt butter and sliced garlic cloves to a small skillet and cook over medium heat for about 3 to 5 minutes or just until butter starts to brown.  Remove and brush the butter over the rolled biscuits.

Sprinkle the cheese over sausage balls.  Bake for 28-30 minutes or until edges are golden brown and cheese is melted.  Garnish with fresh thyme if desired and serve immediately.

photo four

I also think next time I may dot butter on the first half of the layer and put half the cheese on first layer and then brush the tip layer with butter and  the other half of the cheese on the top layer.

That’s how we learn…experiment with our recipes, change them up until they are how we want them!   Have fun with this one!

Leave a Reply

