A great dessert and a great breakfast

I made this yesterday but being the doe-doe head I am I did not take a picture of the completed picture. However, I did take pictures of the process! Yea me!

This recipe is so good and so easy. Eat it for a dessert – it stands alone and would b good with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. Or re-heat and have for a breakfast or brunch. Or just make the apple topping and serve these on your oatmeal! Oh my.

Try some and see how you would change this recipe and make it your own. And of course, I did…and I used splenda brown sugar in mine! I found this recipe on a blog I follow and changed it up slightly – (Cookies and Cups) so that hubby could have a bite—or two!

Skillet Apple Biscuits
3 medium granny smith apples peeled and chopped
1 tsp lemon juice – I also zested half of the lemon and included the zest in the apples
3 Tbsp butter
1/4 cup heavy cream
1 Tbsp flour
1/2 cup light brown sugar plus 2 Tbsp reserved for topping
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
10 to 12 large biscuits (canned works just fine but don’t use the flaky layered kind)

For the glaze:
2/3 cup powdered sugar
1/4 cup (or more if needed) heavy cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a large (10″) cast iron skillet with butter and set aside.
Put apples into a medium sauce pan and sprinkle with lemon juice (and the zest if using) and stir to coat apples. Add the 3 Tbsp butter (its ok if its not melted as it will melt during cooking process but I did slice my butter up) and also add the heavy cream.
IMG_0113
When through, set this aside.

Inn a bowl whisk together the flour, 1/2 cup light brown sugar, cinnamon, and salt. Add this to the apple mix and stir to coat. Heat this mixture over medium low heat until apples soften and a thick sauce is created, stirring frequently, for about 7-10 minutes. Remove from heat.
Place biscuits in pan, completely covering bottom overlapping if needed. I cut my biscuits into quarters and added to the skillet for a better fit and for ease of serving – see?
IMG_0112
Pour apple mixture over biscuits evenly and sprinkle with the reserved 2 Tbsp of light brown sugar
IMG_0114
ready for the oven!
Bake for 30-35 minutes until biscuits are golden brown.

For the glaze, mix powdered sugar and heavy cream in a small bowl until smooth and drizzle on top of biscuits when they come out of the oven. Serve warm.

Have a great week! And enjoy these sometime soon! Great warmed over!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

