Weddings and food

There’s a wedding in our family on the horizon and we couldn’t be more thrilled. Our oldest granddaughter and her “intended” will be saying the “I do’s” late spring and we love her fiance. He is already part of the family and calls us Grammy and Paw Paw. A true sign that he just may like us a little!

One of the items that will be on the menu are these:
photo
And little old me gets to be in charge of making these! And I couldn’t be happier! These are easy, fun, and don’t fall apart like some cheese straws. But what makes these so good is that they are “Smokey Cheese Straws”, not just your regular cheese straws. We made a recipe for taste testing and they were so good. I wanted to make sure the bride loved them. And what made these a “plus” for her was that the store was out of the “smoked Cheddar cheese, but had the “smoked bacon cheddar cheese” of which I kindly obliged her bacon likings and used it. The recipe, according to her, was great. So I may just make a batch of regular and a batch using the smoked cheddar with bacon. Serve these at your next shower, get-together, or tailgate party!

Smoky Cheesy Straws Makes close to 5 dozen
1 (8-ounce) block of smoked Cheddar cheese, shredded (or the smoked bacon cheddar cheese like I used)
1 (8-ounce) round of smoked Gouda cheese, shredded
1 cup butter, softened
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp smoked paprika
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground red pepper (more or less for heat to your taste)

In a medium bowl combine the cheeses and butter. Beat at medium speed with a mixer until well combined.

In a small bowl, combine flour, smoked paprika, garlic powder, salt, and red pepper. Gradually add flour mixture to cheese mixture until just combined. Wrap dough in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line baking sheets with parchment paper. (It took two baking sheets for my recipe)

On a lightly floured surface, roll dough to a 1/4 inch thickness. (err on the thinner of 1/4 inch. Mine were a bit too thick and were not as crisp as we wanted them to be). Using a pizza cutter or ki=nife, cut dough into 6inchx1/2inch strips, and place on prepared pans (I plan on making my next batch 3 inch x 1/2 inch) and place on prepared pans. bake for 12 to 15 minutes or until lightly browned. Let cool on pans for 2 minutes. Remove to racks to let cool completely. Store in air tight containers.

Stay warm and enjoy the rest of your week.

5 responses

  1. Please let me know what I can do to help with the weddng… also don’t go buy anything without asking I have a lot of drink containers e.g. and you know I have a lot of JUNK

    Don’t mind asking… will do what I can to help you… I owe you big time girl!

  2. Sounds great! I have a recipe book you need for the wedding. The title is “Someone is going to die if Lila Beth doesn’t catch the bouquet”. It includes good old southern recipes for weddings, parties, showers, etc. I’ll give it to you when you come over.

Leave a Reply

