Watermelon is my life

You probably already know that.  But just in case you don’t, here’s the scoop – I love watermelon season.  Hubby keeps those small seedless round watermelons for me all during the season for my snacking.  And for my breakfast, and even sometimes for my lunch.

I ran across a recipe somewhere that I am not sure where, for watermelon-basil lemonade.  Since I grow fresh basil, this was one I wanted to try.  and I am so glad I did!  So refreshing!  I will keep a pitcher of this on hand during the hot days of summer along with my sliced watermelon!

And believe me, I will have more recipes to share that involves watermelon!

Watermelon-basil Lemonade

1/4 cup fresh basil leaves (and if you are not a fan of basil just leave this step out)

4 cups boiling water

1 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (reserve lemon rinds)

1/2 to 3/4 cups sugar (I used Splenda sugar)

3 cups pureed watermelon

watermelon wedges and lemon slices

In a 4-quart heatproof bowl (I actually just use the pitcher I am going to use) bruise basil leaves with the back of a wooden spoon.  Add boiling water, lemon juice and sugar, stirring to dissolve sugar.   Stir in pureed watermelon and the reserved lemon rinds. (I slice a few of the lemon halves in to slices and throw in to the pitcher – this gives the drink added flavor).  Cover and chill for 2 to 3 hours.  Remove and discard the lemon rinds.

Strain the watermelon/lemon mixture through a fine-mesh sieve into a large pitcher (well mine is already in a large pitcher and I didn’t strain mine! But it does make it a lot clearer of a drink and takes the pulp out of it – your call.) Garnish with watermelon wedges and lemon slices (these slices can be from a lemon you didn’t squeeze the jouce out of!)  Stir before serving.

Strain or not strain – that’s your call.  I guess if I were serving to guests I would strain but for me it is fine like it is.

Have a great week and enjoy the melon season this year!

Leave a Reply

