Is it I? Or me?

Holy cow! I don’t even want to think how long it has been since I posted last (we won’t count the days…months) but I can truly say that old age, health issues, travel, quilting, small building projects, large flower garden plots all have played a part. In other words, life! And I am enjoying it to the extent this old age will allow!!

I have been growing cherry tomatoes and hot peppers. I wonder if I put the cherry tomato and the hot pepper plant in the same container would I have hot tomatoes??!!

Now what to do with these beauties:

IMG_0322

If I keep walking by and eating them I may get my red hair highlights back!!! Bahahaha!

Actually I will be making an Avocado tomato salad(so easy- slice the cherry tomatoes, about 4 cups, chop about 1/4 to 1/2 bunch of cilantro or to taste, squeeze in juice of one lime and don’t forget to zest it first and add the zest so as not to waste the zest, chop up some red onion to taste, cube two avocados, salt and pepper to taste, and about a tablespoon of olive oil-mix and eat- I cut this in half for us) and a Tomato Cobbler with Cornmeal-Cheddar biscuits- yum!

So if you will forgive my sporadic posts I will post this way to use up your supply of extra cherry tomatoes as I am sure you have the same problem I do(teeheehee)!

Tomato Cobbler with Cornmeal-Cheddar Biscuits

about 3-3 1/2 lbs cherry tomatoes

1/2 Tbsp olive oil

1 red onion thinly sliced

1 1/2 tsp salt divided

a couple of cloves of garlic, finely chopped ( can use more or less depending on your taste)

2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

biscuit topping:

1 1/4 cups all purpose flour

3/4 cups corn meal (it’s ok if yours is self rising- that’s all I buy!) (don’t make my mistake and pull the self rising flour bag out instead of the cornmeal,bag out and not realize you did it until you put them in the oven! Good grief)

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

6 Tbsp cold butter

1 1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese (or be like me and use a miss of whatever you have in your fridge)

3/4 to 1 cup buttermilk and some for brushing tops of biscuits.

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Larger tomatoes can be sliced in half if needed or leave whole.  Warm oil in skillet (cast iron if you have one) and add onions and 1/2 tsp of the salt and cook till soft. Add garlic and cook another minute or two. Pour in balsamic vinegar and cook until mostly evaporated.  Stir in flour until forms a paste. Take off heat and stir in tomatoes and remaining one tsp salt and stir till mixed.

prepare biscuit mix: combine flour, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda, salt in bowl. Add butter and either cut in with pastry cutter, or hands. Stir in one cup grated cheese. Pour in buttermilk. (3/4 cup for firmer biscuits and one cup for looser biscuits). Drop dough onto tomatoes making 7 or 8 biscuits. Brush with a bit more buttermilk and bake 30-45 minutes – depends on what kind of pan you use and your oven-  about 10 minutes before done sprinkle with rest of cheese and finish cooking. Enjoy!

And enjoy the fruits of the summer!

IMG_0255

 

Leave a comment