In Search Of The Perfect Biscuit…..literally

No one could make biscuits like Mrs. Redmond could…I remember going to her home and wanting to stand there and watch forever her ease in getting the fluffiest, best tasting, made-from-scratch biscuits I have ever tasted from that bowl of hers.  I have tried, but I cannot get the technique.  I can make somewhat decent biscuits, but not what “I” consider that “wow” biscuit.  Now I will put my chicken and dumplings up against anyone’s any day of the week.  Not my biscuits……no way.   

I even have a cookbook “Biscuits” that has every kind of recipe from old fashioned that includes the lard, butter, etc. – they seem a little heavy to me.  I have made the infamous “7-up biscuits” floating around pinterest and while I love these light and airy biscuits, they do not depict those good country “slather on the tomato gravy” biscuits that I am wanting to achieve.

I did come across this recipe and it comes pretty darn close – I made a batch and it was so buttery – they are good enough to eat even the next morning without re-heating.   I will be making these again….hubby said the only thing missing was the sausage gravy, or the tomato gravy (by the way if you don’t make tomato gravy, you need to).

Try some…..and if you have a recipe for those perfect biscuits, send it my way.   I know hubby would appreciate it.  

Perfect Biscuits Every time

3 cups all-purpose flour

3 Tbs. sugar

1/2 tsp salt

4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cream of tartar

3/4 cup COLD butter (cut into cubes prior to starting recipe, and place back in refrigerator to keep really cold)

1 egg 

1 cup milk

Preheat oven to 450 degrees

Combine the dry ingredients and use a pastry cutter to cut in the cold butter.  Keep the butter pieces pea size so don’t cut the butter in too much.

Add the milk and egg (I usually measure the milk, crack the egg into the milk and mix together before adding) and mix just until the ingredients are combined.    The dough will be sticky and should be – don’t keep working it – and you should still be able to see the butter pieces in the dough.

Turn the dough out onto a generously floured surface, and sprinkle some flour on the top of the dough so it doesn’t stick to your hands, knead around 10 times.  If the dough is super sticky, just sprinkle some additional flour on it.

Roll or pat the dough out to 3/4 or 1 inch thickness and cut with a biscuit cutter or small glass.  You will end up with 9-12 biscuits, depending on the size of your cutter.  Place on a lightly greased baking sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown.  

Once done, you can brush the tops of the biscuits with melted butter for extra added flavor if you want.

These really are good.  And while you may think the recipe sounds detailed, it isn’t.  Try it.  

Don’t forget ……….send me any of your favorite biscuit recipes.  We’ll make them together!

4 responses

  1. Momma did make the best biscuits in the world and no Jenny and I cannot duplicate them. I’ll have to try your recipe. Don’t know If you remember but she used a wooden flour bowl that granddaddy made for grandmomma (Jenny still has it). She also put Crisco (or sometimes good old Lard) in them. They may not have been healthy but they sure were good.

  2. I use 3 cups self-rising flour, one stick of butter (no margarine…blah), and about one cup of milk soured with vinegar (just because I never have buttermilk). I carefully work it into a sticky, wet dough. Don’t work it too much. I roll them out and cut with biscuit cutter. I usually work my butter in with my hands. This works for me every time.

  3. Pingback: American Steroids

Leave a comment