Grillin’ Time

As promised, I have a dry rub recipe I made for the ribs we smoked (among other things) this past weekend to “tide us over” for a while.  It blends up perfectly and is a great rub not only for ribs, but for chicken, country style riblets on the regular grill or even on a pile of wings!  I just might sprinkle some on some fish (make sure you drizzle oil on your fish first so it won’t stick to the grill).

And, why, yes, I do have all these spices in my possession at any given time, and why, yes, I have them in super sized containers (most of them, anyways!

What are your plans this weekend?  Cooking out? Ball games?  Working in the yards?  Or just chilling?   Make you a batch of these.

While on our travels, we visited the absolutely neatest place..Polebridge Mercantile, Polebridge, Montana.

dscn3597

It sits off on a trek of a paved road, that changes to a gravel road, then to a dirt road which is probably only about a 35 mile drive but takes FOREVER because it is a curvy, bumpy road and it borders Glacier National Park. But, y’all. It was well worth it.  This Place.  It has been there forever and looks like it.  But they are famous for their breads, pastries, and mostly, for their pecan sticky buns the size of your hand.  And yes, we split one.  ONE.  ONLY ONE.  I could have eaten a dozen.  I regret not getting more than ONE. I would drive back to Montana right now for that sticky bun.  Point, I think I have found a recipe that is the height, color, and sounds like the one we had.  I will let you know.  Keep your fingers crossed!   I commented to this blogger she may have just saved my life!

Have a fun weekend and get outside and enjoy the weather!

Rib Rub – (adjust amounts according to your own tastes – you can add 1/4 to 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper if you want more heat in yours)

3 Tbsp Splenda Brown Sugar (4 Tbsp if you use regular light brown sugar -Splenda tends to be sweeter than the regular so I cut the amount I normally use)

2 Tbsp Paprika

2 Tbsp Chili Powder

1 Tsp onion powder

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp. dry mustard

1/2 tsp thyme

1 tsp garlic powder

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

Mix all the above and keep in an air tight container.  (I store my rubs in a mason jar.)

One response

Leave a comment